Event #130 – AD 100 not out!

^ Doddy and Meg Bailey all smiles after completing their century!

Once again the colour ‘red' was the order of the day - though this time there were a few blokes wearing red dresses! It was “The Red Dress Run” - to raise awareness of the efforts to end HIV transmission in NSW by the end of decade.

A great festive atmosphere prevailed with some very enthusiastic volunteers and participants. There were even visitors from Holland!

Virginia Hardyman was acknowledged for her recent 50th (there we go … red again) though she was actually volunteer time-keeper for the day ….. how we love our volunteers (Hint! Hint! Please volunteer soon - it's easy and fun!! newyhelpers@parkrun.com).

Meg Bailey and Andrew Dodd clocked up their 100th parkrun each and were both there for the very first parkrun at Newy way back when. Just for the heck of it Doddy wore 11 different shirts over the 5km course represent various running clubs and events in and around “The Region of Runners”.

Talking of centuries last week the 100th parkrun in Australia was launched at Calamvale in Brisbane.  Start planning your parkrun tourism itinerary now by checking out the sensational video that showcases them all.

Thank you to our volunteers this week:

Andrew DODD  •  Chris SEALBY  •  Darren POLLOCK  •  David MCGAW  •  Heath RAFTERY  •  Hugh BONNEY  •  Jasper REDHEAD  •  Johanna DEAN  •  Leanna PUGLIESE  •  Lisa BURKE  •  Penny REDHEAD  •  Ruth WHITE  •  Scott WHITE  •  Simon REDHEAD  •  Stassi KYPRI  •  Tanja SEALBY  •  Troy SULLIVAN  •  Virginia HARDYMAN  •  Wyn JONES


Event number 130 - 22nd November 2014

Men's placings:
Andrew LE BAS (SM25-29) of Newcastle Uni FC, was first over the line in 17:21 - 8th time in 94 appearances.
Alex MASSEY (SM20-24) of Newcastle Orienteering Club, was second over the line in 17:27 - has been first to finish on 10 previous occasions.
Bryn HOSKINS (VM35-39) (Unattached) was third over the line in 17:38.

Current standing in the Men's annual points competition:
Andrew LE BAS (Newcastle Uni FC) 1947 pts.
Mark CONNORS (Wooters Runners) 1433 pts.
Chris HAYES (Wooters Runners) 1428 pts.

Women's placings:
Jessica STABLERQ (SW25-29) of Wooters Runners, was first (17th overall) over the line in 19:33 - first time in 61 appearances.
Camilla WHISHAW (SW25-29) (Unattached) was second (24th overall) over the line in 19:51.
Simone DAGG (VW45-49) (Unattached) was third (30th overall) over the line in 20:12 - has been first to finish on 12 previous occasions.

Current standing in the Women's annual points competition:
Simone DAGG (Unattached) 2077 pts.
Priscilla COLMAN (Night Striders) 1824 pts.
Lauretta MELLOWS (Night Striders) 1586 pts.

The following runners recorded the best Age Grade scores:
Simone DAGG (VW45-49) was graded 80.20% for the time 20:12 (30th overall).
Chris HAYES (VM50-54) was graded 80.18% for the time 19:00 (10th overall).
Craig SIMPSON (VM50-54) was graded 79.77% for the time 18:47 (7th overall).

This week there were 487 runners, of whom 44 were first timers and 90 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 19 different athletics clubs took part.

Newy parkrun started on 9th June 2012, and since then 7,729 different runners, including participants from 96 athletics clubs, have completed 48,204 runs covering a total distance of 241,020 km, and there have been 11,590 new Personal Bests.

The women's record is held by Bridey DELANEY who ran in a time of 00:16:37 on 2014-10-11 (event number 124).
The men's record is held by Scott WESTCOTT who ran in a time of 00:14:23 on 2013-10-05 (event number 70).
The Age Grade course record is held by Scott WESTCOTT who recorded a 93.51% run (14:23) on 5th October 2013 (event number 70).

Today's full results and a complete event history can be found on the Newy parkrun Results Page.