Mitchelton parkrun Run Report – Event #80

### NEW COURSE RECORD - 01 Jan 15 ###

A beautiful New Years Day and some blurry heads still saw 271 runners complete the course! Well done to all of you and an extra well done to those who ran a double, our 7 first time runners and ...13 runners with new PBs.

We also saw the female course record get broken by our first finisher Clare Geraghty who knocked almost 30 seconds off the old record (19:26 set 8 Jun 13 - Event #1), finishing in 18:57. She was closely followed by the male first finisher, Jeremy Solley at 19:00.

A giant thank you must also go to our volunteers, Fiona Gardiner, James Gooley, Mark Huth, Tara McMahon, Michelle Racadio, Laurene Williams and Les Williams.

We look forward to seeing you all again on Saturday 3 January 2015.

1st January 2015

Men's placings:
Jeremy SOLLEY (JM15-17) of Braves Running Project, was first (second overall) over the line in 19:00 - 13th time in 22 appearances.
An unknown runner was second.
Marcel ZEVENBERGEN (VM40-44) of The Run Inn Brisbane, was third (4th overall) over the line in 19:39 - has been first to finish on 2 previous occasions.

Current standing in the Men's annual points competition:
Richie CUNNINGHAM (Unattached) 1730 pts.
Tim GEPP (Unattached) 1666 pts.
Michael BANNERMAN (Braves Running Project) 1427 pts.

Women's placings:
Clare GERAGHTY (SW25-29) of Pacific Athletics Club, was first (first overall) over the line in 18:57 - first appearance.
Shiloh WATTS (VW35-39) of Ashgrove Rangers AC, was second (17th overall) over the line in 22:15 - has been first to finish on 4 previous occasions.
Lauren SCOFIELD (JW11-14) of Ashgrove Rangers AC, was third (26th overall) over the line in 23:07 - has been first to finish on 4 previous occasions.

Current standing in the Women's annual points competition:
Josephine VIDLER (Unattached) 1657 pts.
Becky CHANT (ProActiv Runners) 1609 pts.
Rosalind DUNNE (ProActiv Runners) 1576 pts.

The following runners recorded the best Age Grade scores:
Clare GERAGHTY (SW25-29) was graded 78.10% for the time 18:57 (first overall).
Neil BATH (VM50-54) was graded 75.36% for the time 19:53 (5th overall).
Phil KLEIN (VM50-54) was graded 72.91% for the time 20:33 (9th overall).

This week there were 271 runners, of whom 103 were first timers and 12 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 28 different athletics clubs took part.

Mitchelton parkrun started on 8th June 2013, and since then 2,847 different runners, including participants from 67 athletics clubs, have completed 14,396 runs covering a total distance of 71,980 km, and there have been 3,185 new Personal Bests.

The women's record is held by Clare GERAGHTY who ran in a time of 00:18:57 on 2015-01-01 (event number 80).
The men's record is held by Nick TOOHEY who ran in a time of 00:16:10 on 2014-08-16 (event number 62).
The Age Grade course record is held by Ron PETERS who recorded a 87.30% run (18:22) on 31st August 2013 (event number 12).

Full results and a complete event history can be found on the Mitchelton parkrun Results Page.



New Year’s Day parkrun

We will be running at Mitchelton parkrun beginning at 8.30am on New Year's Day. The later time will allow those runners who are interested, to run a 'parkrun double' i.e. run at another Brisbane based event at 7am then drive to Mitchelton for our event. Two runs in one day!


Special Event New Year’s Day parkrun at Mitchelton

Mitchelton parkrun is pleased to announce that we will be staging a special, one off parkrun on New Year's Day at 7am and we would like to invite any interested parkrunners in the Brisbane area and their family and friends to attend if they wish to.

Please note that this will be an official parkrun event and as such will count towards your run count to qualify for 10, 50 and 100 etc club membership.

Older Tagged Posts ⇒
⇐ Newer Tagged Posts