Castlemaine Parkrun Report – Event 107 – 27 May 2017

Second birthday celebration for Castlemaine Parkrun

On Saturday 27 May 2017, Castlemaine Parkrun celebrated its second anniversary with a dress up day, annual awards, cakes and, unsurprisingly, a 5km jog/walk around the botanic gardens. Richard ‘Braveheart’ Mayes, embracing his Scottish roots as Run Director and Emcee for the day, was dressed in full William Wallace regalia and facepaint. There was also a Power Ranger, a hula dancer, Dr Frankenfurter, bumble bees, boxers, convicts, cats, 1950s rockettes and a 1980s glam rocker to name a few. It was a colourful and fun start to the weekend, and the weather was kind.

Richard read out some of the key statistics from the past two years of weekly parkruns in Castlemaine, noting that 923 different runners had completed this course, with 1216 personal bests (PBs) from a total of 6,556 runs. Importantly, he also noted how important this had become as a regular community-based event for people of all ages and abilities to get together in a welcoming setting, with a range of health and social benefits and many new friendships forged. Event director Luke Kneebone also presented the final set of medals to the now-defunct annual points competition, which recognise a mix of regular attendance, performance and volunteering. The female awards were presented to Raewyn Rice, Prue Robertson and Karina Taylor. The male awards were presented to Jason Hull, Shane Renfrey and Glen Taylor.

After the speeches and presentations, sixty-three parkrunners made their way around the course, including a number of visitors from other parkruns (Hamilton, Shepparton, Bendigo), and two people undertaking their first parkrun ever were also welcomed. One of these first-timers was Oja Prelovsek, who was first female finisher in 21 minutes 32 seconds. Oja’s time was also a new fastest time for the 35-39 age category. This broke the oldest age category record for the Castlemaine course by 24 seconds, originally set by Carol Cunningham way back at the very first Castlemaine Parkrun on 23 May 2015. Next female finishers were Karina Taylor (22:16), followed by Caroline Macdonald (23:59). Caroline Bellair had the highest female age-graded result (78.49%). Congratulations to the women who set PBs including Johannah Ashley (her sixth in a row, this time by 1 second), Kym Pointon (by 63s), Simone Healy (by 261s) and Lorella Burns (by 17s).

Bendigo-based parkrunner Rowan Threlfall was the first male finisher (19:04) in his inaugural run on the Castlemaine course. He was followed by Jason Hull (20:21) and Glen Taylor (20:57). Glen also had the highest age-graded result for males (70.41%), and Luke Watt set a new PB by 158s.

Thanks to the volunteers who coordinated the day’s run – Dianne Cox, Mick Evans, Richard Mayes, Robin Murdoch, Nicki Renfrey, Dave Petrusma and Stephen Walls.


Castlemaine Parkrunner of the Month – Honour Board

Honour Board for Castlemaine Parkrunner of the Month
An award to recognise award for commitment, improvement and persistence.

Angela Mitten - June
Shane Renfrey - July
Craig Marshall - August
Dianne Cox - September
Chris Timewell - October
Maree Matheson - November
Glen Taylor - December

Christine Barker - January
Prue Robertson - February
Gary Chapman - March
Gary Schurr - April
Joanne Kepsner - May
Brianna Brown - June
Richard Mayes - July
Tony Greaves – August
Lauren Barker – September
Julie Hough – October
Karina Taylor - November
Patricia Barrett - December

Yvonne Welch – January
Tyrone Rice – February
Geoff, Donna, Henry, Daniel and Bessie Faircloth - March
Dave Petrusma - April
Robin Murdoch - May

As at 7 June 2017


Castlemaine Milestone Parkrunners – Honour Board

Honour Board for Castlemaine Parkrunner milestones
Last Updated 7 June 2017

Zedekiah Marshall              Jack Maddern              Annabel Weiss
Madeleine Springate          Angus Mayes               Alex Welch
Joe Flexmore                     Henry Faircloth            Daniel Faircloth
Rosie Jarvis                       Tobiah Marshall

Chris Timewell                   Ruth Anley

Shane Renfrey                   Dianne Cox                    Prue Robertson
Jason Hull                          Maree Matheson            Nicki Renfrey
Michael Constable              Raewyn Rice                 Karina Taylor
Richard Mayes                   Tony Greaves                 Lisa Minster
Christine Barker                 Angela Mitten                 Donna Petrusma
Gavin Vanstone                  Stephen Walls                Lisa Minchin
Glen Taylor                         Tyrone Rice                   Gabrielle Bertoni-Marshall
Patricia Barrett                   Nathan Rice                   Joanne Kepsner
Yvonne Welch                    Craig Marshall                Gary Chapman
Robin Murdoch                   Ellissia Campbell           Adam Scoles
Sheree Scoles                    Chris Timewell

- (not too far off until our first 100 club members!)


Castlemaine Parkrun Event 105 – 13 May 2017

Despite the crisp 6 degree temp, this week 54 people ran, jogged and walked the botanical gardens course, of whom 2 were first timers and 14 recorded new Personal Bests (PBs).


The event was made possible by 9 volunteers: Bec WADDINGTON  •  Christine BARKER  •  Dave PETRUSMA  •  Ellissia CAMPBELL  •  Gary SCHURR  •  Julie HOUGH  •  Libby MAYES  •  Luke KNEEBONE  •  Steve HARRIS

Male placings:
Beau COOK (SM30-34) was first over the line in 19:35 - 9th time in 23 appearances.
Tim COOPER (VM50-54) was second over the line in 19:48.
Jason HULL (VM45-49) was third over the line in 20:42 - has been first to finish on 12 previous occasions.

Female placings:
Lisa GRAY (VW45-49) was first (9th overall) over the line in 23:42 - third time in 3 appearances.
Karina TAYLOR (VW45-49) was second (12th overall) over the line in 25:15 - has been first to finish on 41 previous occasions.
Libby MAYES (VW45-49) , was third (17th overall) over the line in 25:49 - was first to finish once before.

Many Castlemaine parkrunners are heading down to Apollo bay this weekend for the Great Ocean Road Running Festival which has distances of 1.5km, 6km, 14km, half marathon, marathon and ultra marathon. Best of luck to all those participating.


Castlemaine Parkrun Report for event 102 – 22 April 2017

This week 55 people ran, jogged and walked the course, of whom 2 were first timers and 7 recorded new personal bests.

Castlemaine parkrun would not be possible without the volunteers that step up every week. This week helpers were Adelynne CHAPMAN • Bev CONSTABLE • Dianne COX • Shayne and Akira • And Run Director Libby Mayes.

Certificates were issued and congratulations went to

50 Run Club (completing 50 runs)

Junior 10 Run Club (completing 10 runs)
Tobiah Marshall, who has improved his pb time of 36.19 by 3 mins in only 4 months.

Today's full results and a complete event history can be found on the Castlemaine parkrun Results Page.

Male placings:
David WILSON (VM35-39) was first over the line in 20:01 - first time in 12 appearances.
Tim COOPER (VM50-54) was second over the line in 20:03.
Richard MAYES (VM40-44) was third over the line in 20:58 - has been first to finish on 4 previous occasions.

Female placings:
Karina TAYLOR (VW45-49) was first (5th overall) over the line in 22:24 - 40th time in 68 appearances.
Alix EDQUIST (VW35-39) was second (11th overall) over the line in 25:03.
Ellissia CAMPBELL (SW30-34) was third (20th overall) over the line in 28:11.

Rain, Hail or Shine we will run, walk or dawdle around the Botanical gardens every sat at 8am.

⇐ Newer Posts